Wrap up from week 3: #PhiladelphiaMarathon #RunForAutism

I’m still a snail according to RunKeeper. . . I was hoping to move up to slug or oh turtle.  Last week (that would be week 2) was a disaster.  I let work dictate my life (bad) and on my one wog, wound up with a nightmare case of shin splints (bad).  Oh, and shameless fundraising plug.

This week, I finally decided to be a bit more logical in my approach.  I broke down and bought one of those green straps that I can use to stretch my hamstrings.  I found a better pair of shoes that fit my insane ankle pronation and I’m trying to balance a 3/4 inch leg length difference and what sort of trails/paths I need to walk on.  Luckily, the course itself is flat.  I’ve revamped where I wog from my neighborhood to a few other areas.  I live on the top OF a hill and most walks have hills which aggravate the hamstring/shin splint issue: of course, I thought of this today!

Strange lesson learned: I tend to eat better when I exercise.  I’m sure there is a logical explanation but I don’t even want junk.  It’s not in the “OMG, I know exactly how long I have to work out for to burn those calories” but simply not wanting junk.  I also eat less.  Ok, that is probably because I’m less stressed because somehow exercise makes me less stressed.

New additions to the chic training gear: replaced foam roller (thanks Lafitte), green strap, correct running shoes and a kitten.  Really, a new kitten.  Windsor but more on him later but he’ll help with agility training.

Miles Wogged: 10.14 Tu-F.

Realization #1: I need to really work on the hamstring flexibility.  It’s completely related to the 25 or so odd surgeries on the legs.  They are never going to be balanced but I need to learn how to keep them from flaring (which, based on how I feel, I’m thinking walking in flatter areas is going to help).

Realization #2: I will always probably be a RunKeeper snail.

Realization #3: Sadly, I think I’m looking forward to the few miles I log after work to just decompress.

Realization #4: I’m a sucker for kittens with sob stories.

Best training advice: Figure out when it’s your brain saying stop versus your body.  If it’s your body, stop. If it’s your brain, tell it to shut up.  (Thanks Tim!).

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Wrap up from week 3: #PhiladelphiaMarathon #RunForAutism”

  1. Jean Says:

    I agree, hills really aggravate shin splints. I thought mine had gone away but they flared up again this past weekend when we went to Hershey Park, which is very hilly. Love the feline contribution to agility training.

Leave a Reply

