Wrap up of week one from #PhiladelphiaHalfMarathon trenches.

It’s August. I’m August adverse. Between the humidity, blooming and growing things and just haze, I prefer to spend the days curled up under an air conditioning unit. So far, we’ve had a few good days of low humidity. And let’s face it, a Boston summer, for all of our New England wailing about the heat is only a few really gross days.

I read a few “how to train for your first half marathon including one that was a couch to half-marathon that starts with “you should already be running 5-10 miles a week”. Ok, in my world, couch means COUCH. As in I don’t run. (I mean, technically I can’t run due to the leg length difference but I’m not interested in wallowing over missing the opportunity to run. I think it’s nuts.) So, somewhere I began thinking this might be an impossible task a la Robert Irving failing at Restaurant Impossible or something like that. Then I got mad at myself for thinking I couldn’t do it (I might fail but I’m not going to throw in the towel). I should mention by this point, I hadn’t made it out of my driveway. I’m that exercise adverse.

So I spent 2.5 miles thinking about why am I doing this? Insanity. Challenges. Raising money for charity. Check. Check. Check.

Then I REALLY started thinking about why am I going to do this: I should be able to walk this without stress. I’m out of shape for no good reason (read, because I don’t exercise and live off the American diet of on the go for far, far too long). I’m overweight. And I need a tangible goal to aim for (getting healthy is not goal that motivates me): like I will do a certain event. Side benefits: RunKeeper tells me exactly how many calories I’ve burned. I can translate that quite easily into “There is no way in hell I’m eating that. . . it’s 20, 30, 60 minutes of hell because of that choice.” A shift from my previous attempts of weight loss. I’ve found myself not craving sugar. Um. I’m not going to even try to figure out why. I’m sure there is some logical explanation: but the vending machine lost one of it’s best customers in the past two weeks. I’ve had to consume less caffeine to live (sell your stock in Coca-Cola).

End of the week stats: 8.52 miles.
RunKeeper animal status: Snail (I’m aiming for turtle).
Best advice: “Just make sure you do 3 walks over 11 miles. You’ve got to get over that hurdle.”

Shameless fundraising link.  One in 50 kids will be diagnosed with Autism (or on the spectrum).  I know too many people impacted by this disorder.  Research dollars are needed; please consider giving. Plus it supports my insanity.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

