13.1 miles, it can’t be that bad, right? #halfmarathon

In a fit of a lack of judgment/goal setting/bucket list crossing off, I randomly decided to walk/jog the Philadelphia half marathon in November. Yup. The single most exercise adverse person on the planet (ok, maybe not the planet) decided why not? A friend is running the full and Philadelphia is a great city so I figured go big or go home. Ok, well maybe not big (if so I’d be attempting the full) but I’ve spent a ton of time trying to figure out a way to motivate myself to get into shape. The entire ‘get into shape for better health’ does not work for me. . . .the entire you just spent a ton of money and you better not give it up because you were too lazy to prepare for the event motivates me.

I signed up to wog (walk+jog) the Philadelphia Half Marathon. The longest distance I’ve ever walked is when I did the loop at Hollins twice in one day: and that was oh so long ago. I’ve decided to raise money for one of the official charity partners, OAR, which works on autism research (shameless plug to fundraising site here).

After spending the day yesterday downloading different training plans, I set off today on my first wog. I’m pretty sure I didn’t do any long-term damage. I dropped my pace time from the walks I have been doing. I’ve found a loop that measures exactly 2.5 miles which can be easily extended to a 3 mile loop (makes it easier for training!).

The best part? I didn’t come home and collapse like I thought I might. I stretched, ate some breakfast and looked at the training calendar for what I’m supposed to do tomorrow. This is either going to be one of the best or worst ideas I’ve had. It is completely one of the craziest!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

