It’s No, No, No, Nordstrom Anniversary!

Sigh.  Nordstrom used to represent legendary customer service.   Today, I returned, after a bit of frustration, a skirt and 2 pairs of shoes to my local Nordstrom that I had sent to me during the (in)famous Nordstrom Anniversary Sale.

I’d rather have a root canal.  Ok, maybe not that extreme but close.

I stepped off the elevator and took my items to the customer service department.  I wanted to just dart in, out and continue on with my day.  Was I wrong!  As I placed my Nordstrom bag on the counter, with the receipts in hand and my Nordstrom card (trust me, for these acts alone I deserve a medal).  The customer service representative told me he could not help me with my returns.  Um, excuse me? I mean, it’s a return.  You are customer service.  He pointed to a sign that said I could go to any department and they’d be happy to assist me with my return.  Seriously? I mean, this is a Nordstrom: places of legendary (and false) tire returns.

I trudged over to St. John’s (the closest department) and while the woman was lovely, she couldn’t return the shoes.  Something about a “company policy” again and I know Nordstrom employees take flak all day so I smiled and took my items downstairs to the shoe department.

I walked up to the shoe counter with my items and was asked if I needed help.  Yes, I needed to return some items from the Anniversary Sale.  And the sales associate offered to find somebody (I sort of wondered why she asked if she wasn’t going to help but oh well).  I pulled out my two pairs of shoes and my skirt.  The new sales associate apologized but said he couldn’t help me with the skirt but would take care of the shoes.  At this point, I was wondering *where* Nordstrom and their famous customer service went.  I asked about the sign at customer service that any department could help with any return.  He explained that shoes was different due to a “company policy”.  After inspecting my shoes in a manner that would make a US Marine Corps Drill Sergeant proud, he stated he could return the shoes.  (Great, I’m thinking because I bought them less than two weeks ago, looked at them in person and said not for me.)

I went back up to St. John’s and returned the skirt.  The woman apologized again saying that different departments can only return some items.   She helped me return the skirt and was nice but really? 4 departments for 3 items? Target and Wal-Mart both don’t have you run all over the store for a simple return.

On my way out, I stopped by customer service.  I wanted to let them know their sign was wrong.  He explained the same “company policy” on returns about different departments.  .  I half jokingly asked the customer service rep if I could purchase a roll of quarters from him since that was on my to-do list.  He said he was sorry but it was against company policy.  At this point, I had to think what exactly does customer service DO all day?

On a lark, I looked a www.nordstrom.com for their returns policy:  “Simply bring the packing slip and credit card used when you placed the order to any one of our stores.”  And be prepared to run around for a bit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “It’s No, No, No, Nordstrom Anniversary!”

  1. Jean Says:

    Well, Lord and Taylor is just as silly. I tried to return a pair of shorts and went to the first register that actually had a person behind it. Lo and behold, it was a register in the bcbg dept ( or something like that apparently a designer I have never heard of) and that register couldn’t return the shorts I had purchased even though they were hanging maybe 25 feet away. And they wonder why no one shops at big dept stores anymore.

  2. zebrastravels Says:

    oh, agreed. try to return anything and it’s almost as bad as trying to print a boarding pass!

    • Jean Says:

      OMG dealing with the airlines gives me a migraine. Printing a boarding pass is an adventure in and of itself.

  3. zebrastravels Says:

    actually L&T might be sillier. . . . every morning before they open? Pledge is said .. . that’s strange! (Google it!!)

Leave a Reply

