Stewing Over Some Ideas

I freely admit, I have an ongoing love affair with my crock pot.  The I only have one huge thing to wash (no dishwasher here!) is a major selling factor.  It’s probably energy efficient (which makes up for my unhealthy love affair with my iPhone but that is a different tangent!).  This weekend I spent some time on the prowl at local thrift/resale/consignment shops trying to come up with some fun ideas for decorating my condo.  I know this will be an ongoing project this year … but it will be fun.  My goal is to only by the couch new (unless I can find a killer one at one of the few consignment places I found) and try to re-do the entire place for under $2,000: mostly using finds from other places and spaces.  Who knows? It will give me something to do . . .

Anyway, back to my unhealthy crock pot obsession: this week for my SOLE challenge I made some beef stew.  I have enough leftover for a few lunches which is EXACTLY what I need!

2 lb beef spare ribs

1 quart canned whole tomatoes

2 lb carrots

1/2 c dry sherry

1 c water

2T herbs de provance

Slow cooked beef stew

Slow cooked beef stew

The bread is from the Mass Local Food and was made from local ingredients as well.  Although we’ve had an insanely mild winter to date, there is still a certain amount of self-satisfaction when I open an ingredient I canned over the summer!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Stewing Over Some Ideas”

  1. Jean Says:

    Good luck with redecorating. I love reusing stuff I already have.

  2. Dark Days Challenge Recap: Week 7 (EAST Group) « Not Dabbling In Normal Says:

    […] Quebec beer had my mouth watering and excited to have duck to use in the future. Lella from 31 and holding is a big fan of her crock pot and was thankful for being able to make her meal using canned […]

  3. Stewing Over Some Ideas | 31 and holding Says:

    Meghan Sarwar

    I freely admit, I have an ongoing love affair with my crock pot.  The I only have one huge thing to wash (no dishwasher here!) is a major selling factor.  It

Leave a Reply

