Have you ever READ the fine print?

Now I know some of my lawyer-ly friends will say “yes”, but really, how many people READ all of the fine print?  I have done the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) route for over a year.  I love it.  I switched CSA’s this year for a few reasons: my new one gives “credits” and you select how much of which type of item you would like for the week (pretty cool … no bok choi! or tat soi!).  Anyway, I’m close to meandering off the path.  Last year I froze some berries, some squash and meandered through the ‘off season’ (and uh, in New England, that’s a long time!).

A friend posted on her blog the tales about urban canning. Yup, she’s a “cult” leader of the nice sort. She sucked me in . . . the results?

  1. 5 pints of plum chutney
  2. 1.5 pints of spicy plum sauce
  3. 3 cups of pesto (frozen)
  4. 3 pints of blueberry jam
  5. 1.5 pints of blueberry-chocolate sauce
  6. 7 pints of bread and butter pickles
  7. 1.5 litres of blueberry wine
  8. 6 pints of frozen blueberries

In a weekend.  I know I’ll be happy this winter when it’s impossible to get anything in New England without a massive carbon footprint.  I know I’m eating better because everything used was either organic and locally grown or organic.  I had a blast picking the blueberries, despite the near record heat and humidity.  Everything was canned, frozen or being strained (in the case of the wine) within 10 hours of being picked.

How did this insanity get started? Aside from my friend the cult leader? I read the back of the label of my pickles. The #2 ingredient behind cucumbers? HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, some strange word I can’t pronounce and don’t remember, and yellow dye.  Yup. I’m out of the grocery race.  I’m going back to picking my foods in the garden, using my CSA share and canning and freezing along the way.  It is completely that easy.

Jam in the making

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Have you ever READ the fine print?”

  1. Jesslyn Says:

    Kudos to you! I hadn’t thoghut of that!

Leave a Reply

