Well, there was cake involved . . . . Gluten-Free cake.

GF Ricotta Pound Cake

Cake only improves life!

I’ve been on the gluten-free bandwagon for about 2 years pretty hardcore. It’s made a ton of difference in my life (mostly a marked decrease of migraines, and not feeling sluggish and all) but *finding* GF desserts is a pain.  Making GF desserts is even harder (I’m convinced it’s in the flour!!) but Easter Sunday, I hit a home run. I’m thrilled.

Gluten Free Chocolate-Orange Pound Cake

1 1/2 sticks butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 c gluten free flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 c whole-milk ricotta cheese
1 1/2 c sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp orange extract
2 Tbsp Godiva chocolate liquor (or any other flavoring!) (I also use the ‘airline bottles’ for cooking – so alternatively, one ‘airline bottle’.)
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9-by-5-by-3-inch loaf pan with butter or shortening (I use the wrappers of the butter sticks!)

2. In a bowl, add butter, ricotta and sugar. Cream until fluffy and butter is completely blended.  Add in vanilla, orange extract and flavoring of choice. Cream in baking powder.

3. Alternately add ½ c of flour and one egg until all have been added and batter is smooth and creamy (about 4 minutes)

4. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake until a toothpick comes out clean and the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan, 50-65 minutes. Let cool in pan 10 minutes, transfer to a rack to cool completely.

I found that for GF cakes, often the edges might be darker than non-GF.   Because of the variations ON GF flours, I do the knife test starting at minute 50 as not to over bake – and yes, GF flours have that much variation! This cake is exceptionally moist and holds the flavor of the chocolate liquor and orange well.  I’m in love with my cake. I can’t wait for the next excuse to make it! (and yes, I skip xanthum gum). :)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

