PB and Oatmeal Cookies: GF style

Sous ChefSo, my trusted sous chef informed me today it was time to make cookies. Who am I do disagree with the adorable monster sous chef in my life? Apparently, gluten-free peanut butter/oatmeal cookies were in style in his little diva world. I was wildly happy to agree with his 4 pawed whim.

Now, one of the problems I’ve found with finding GF recipes is that either they require 3-4 extra ingredients or the directions are so convoluted that it would take a degree in cooking to figure out how to make them. 

I was pretty happy with this first attempt – they were a bit dry, my fault after the chocolate chip being too moist. But here is the outline for the recipe.  Feel free to tweak and play.  I made them as bar cookies – simply because I’m far to lazy to keep making them on a sheet. At least I’m honest!

2 sticks of unsalted butter, softened.

2/3c. packed brown sugar

3 heaping tablespoons of organic peanut butter (this could have probably been increased).

2 cage free, organic eggs.

3T of vanilla

1 1/3 c organic oats

1/3 c local, organic honey (could have been increased a bit)

Flour

Pre heat oven to 350.  Blend all ingredients except oats and flour.  Slowly blend in oats.  Add GF flour of choice until you are able to roll into a ball or spread into a baking dish.  You want the mixture to be firm but not crumbly.  My first batch I put in too much flour – I should have kept it at about 1 1/3c or so.  It’s more of a via texture type cooking.  Bake for roughly an hour.

One of the things I’ve learned in the GF cooking adventure is that it is much more sensitive to things like oven variations and you do have to experiment. 

Give it a try . . . I was happy – but in round 2? I’m going to add a bit more moisture!  I’d give it 3 paws.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

