My year of opting out

Usually, I just opt out of Black Friday. For me, Black Friday is a quasi-attonment of Thanksgiving. Here, let’s be gluttons for materialism after a day of giving thanks. The consumerist materialism drives me nuts. I’m sitting here watching a Law and Order marathon and the ads are non-stop “get to x at 4:00 am for special bargains”.  I’m done.

For the next 365 days I am boycotting all national chains, buying as much as I can that is locally made, sourced, produced or from a small business. Actions like this strengthen my local economy. I am not doing this from a point of privilege: I’ve been out of work for over a year.  After I pay my bills, my life would be easier if I shopped at Wal-Mart (which is open in most states today: the day of giving thanks).  But, this diet coke addicted person would rather go without than continue to add to the insanity of large corporations, consumerism at its worse and a host of other items.

There is much, as a nation, we have to be thankful for: shopping on Thanksgiving Day is not one of them. This past month is one that has brought our ugly side. From a hate-filled election on both sides, to low paid individuals having to work on a holiday. I’m done with it.  I’m going local. I’m only going to use chains when needed and then, only regional ones.

There are many things we all want: there are few things we need. I’m spending the year on what I need. And will blog about it. And at the end of the year? Hopefully many of my wants will have gone away.

And no, I didn’t stock up before deciding this. I just jumped off the cliff.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

