Butternut squash and my addiction

Ok. I have this THING for butternut squash. As in I love it. Fortunately, It’s not horrific for you (well, actually pretty good for you). Butternut squash is my temptress in the fall. I can’t pass it in the farmers market. I know. I’m a freak. I’ve been playing around with ideas on how to creatively cook up the latest squash to invade my condo (and hence, save my 2 loyal readers my post-election tirade) and came up with the following. It’s pretty good. And yes, I’m biased.

Savory Butternut Squash

 

Everything used (save the olive oil and brown sugar) are locally farmed from New England/Upstate New York and purchased from small businesses.

Pre-heat oven to 350. Cut butternut squash in half. Remove seeds. Depending on size of squash cut in half again. Brush lightly with olive oil. Cooking time will vary on size of squash but no longer than 45 minutes. Remove and let cool. Fry bacon. Cool. Cut/tear into pieces. Skin squash. Cut into chunks. Gently fold in rosemary, and 1/2 of cheese, brown sugar and bacon. Place in a single layer on a 9×12 baking dish Sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Cook at 350 until warm and cheese is melted and heated thru. Approximately 15 minutes.

It even ranked 8 paws. Which at this zoo, is pretty good!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

