Chili for the first wiff of fall!

Chili

I have to admit that fall is my favorite food season.  There is something about still having fresh produce and the cooling weather with the scents wafting through my house that make me happy. Yes, I can still cook in winter but the grey skies somehow don’t make cooking as enjoyable (yes, I’m weird).

I made a pot of chili this week to celebrate the rescue of the Chilean miners and to thank my neighbors for calling the police when they thought my place was being broken into by the locksmith from hell. I’m not a particular chili snob: I don’t cling to a bean or no bean? Chicken or beef? opinion when it comes to making my chili.  I tend to experiment with what I have around and spices. My friends who attend chili cook-offs have told me that I don’t make chili correctly (Ok, food that tastes good is correct in my book. . .).

This year I was happy with my seasonal batch of chili sort of combining all of the great chili traditions into one big pot and just letting it simmer.  Since I need a place to put the recipe for when I try to ‘recreate’ it in a few months. . . .Here it goes!

1 lb of ground beef and pork from 8’Oclock Ranch (cooked and drained)

2 8 oz cans of organic black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 16 oz bag of Trader Joe’s organic roasted corn

2 28 oz cans of Muir Glen Ground Peeled Tomatoes

2 Green and 1 Red Bell Peppers from Heavens Harvest Farm

2T fresh minced garlic

2T of Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming Spices (salt free)

Grated Horizon organic cheddar cheese to taste

I cooked it for 4 hours at a simmer in the crock pot, stirring randomly.  My neighbors loved it. I loved it. I think it wound up being a compromise of all things chili!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Chili for the first wiff of fall!”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    Like you, I love chili. I’m curious about what might be in the Arizona Dreaming spice? I sometimes put cinnamon in the chili.

    • zebrastravels Says:

      Thanks! According to the label: ground ancho, onion, garlic, paprika, citric acid, lemon peel, chipolte pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, cococa and natural smoke flavoring.

Leave a Reply

